About Me

My photo
Western North Carolina, United States
I am a 62 year old wife and mother of two grown sons, happily living with my darling husband, two dogs and a cat in the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina. I have moved a lot in my life and, in the process, had more than a few professional incarnations. I have been a midwife with a home-birth practice, waitress, classroom teacher, computer programmer, secretary, bookkeeper, and even a car sales person. I have always loved sewing and managed to use my skills in that area to put a little money in my pocket since I was seven and started making doll clothes for friends in the neighborhood. A little over eleven years ago, a friend drug me to my first bear show to get my mind off a health crisis in the life of my younger son, Seth. I made Mickey with his lady bug, took him to a show and the rest, as they say, is history. Now I am hooked on bears and happily designing and making the furry critters as fast as my little fingers can stitch them up.

My Shelfari Bookshelf

Shelfari: Book reviews on your book blog

29 April 2009

Thinking of Ways to Deal with Hard Times

I have several friends, a niece and a son who have lost their jobs in the current economic downturn. We are making room in our home for our son & his wife. Our niece has a place to go until she can find a job and two of our friends have family or friends they can go to until they can find new jobs. Here is the question. What can I do as a member of a community to help my neighbors ride out this storm? I have gotten as far as realizing that if we can all pool our resources, there should be enough to go a round. That is a tall order. In my family, we have a finite list of resources. What can we do when those resources run out. There must be a way to organize things so that all are cared for, but I am not sure where or how to start. Suggestions anyone?
Shelley, the NCTeddyBearLady

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to let me know what you think of my work and my blog.